Herefordshire Council

Guide to the Audit and Governance Committee

The Audit and Governance Committee comprises seven members of the council and may also include an independent person who is not a councillor but is appointed by council and has the same voting rights as other members of the committee.

Councillor David Hitchiner (Chairperson)	Independents for Herefordshire
Councillor Aubrey Oliver (Vice-Chairperson)	Liberal Democrats
Councillor Chris Bartrum	Liberal Democrats
Councillor Frank Cornthwaite	Conservative Party
Councillor Peter Hamblin	Conservative Party
Councillor Robert Highfield	Conservative Party
Councillor Mark Woodall	The Green Party

The Audit and Governance Committee is responsible for proving assurance on the council's audit, governance (including risk management and information governance) and financial processes in accordance with the functions scheme.

The committee shall:

- (a) review and examine, and where required in depth examine, matters relating to internal audit, external audit, risk management, governance, assurance statement, anti-fraud and anti-corruption arrangements as well as any other function to meet the Council's audit committee requirements
- (b) enhance and promote the profile, status and authority of the internal audit function and to demonstrate its independence
- (c) contribute towards making the authority, its committees and departments more responsive to the audit function
- (d) review compliance with the relevant standards, code of conduct, codes of practice and corporate governance policies
- (e) act within the Council's Constitution.